** ALERTS **

  • For FREE COVID-19 TESTING in the North Georgia Health District, call 1-888-881-1474. Please keep calling if lines are busy. Learn more HERE.

About Us

The North Georgia Health District is part of the Georgia Department of Public Health. One of 18 health districts in the state, the North Georgia Health District (District 1-2) is comprised of six counties: Cherokee, Fannin, Gilmer, Murray, Pickens, and Whitfield. Many programs and services exist throughout the district, all of which are designed to meet the needs of the people of North Georgia.

View our Human Resources Policies and Procedures

Our Vision
Our vision for the North Georgia Health District is healthy people, families and communities.


Our Mission
Our mission is to promote and protect the health of the people in the North Georgia Health District wherever they live, work and play, through population-based preventive programs including:

  • Prevention of epidemics and the spread of disease
  • Protection against environmental hazards
  • Injury prevention
  • Promotion and encouragement of healthy behaviors
  • Responding to disasters and assisting communities to recover
  • Assisting communities in assessing the quality and accessibility of health services

District Health Director
Zachary Taylor, M.D., M.S.
Oversees and manages the operational plans for the entire health district.
Deputy Director:
Louise Hamrick, MSN, MBA, RNCS, FNP
Assists Health Director with providing overall direction for a comprehensive public health program.

Clinical/Nursing Coordinator:
Marie Smith, RN, B.S.N.
Responsible for women, adolescent, and child health services/activities for the district and supervises the district's six county health department managers.

District Environmentalist:
Raymond King, M.S.
Responsible for developing, maintaining, and consulting on technical matters for a comprehensive environmental health program in the district.


Media inquiries may be submitted to Jennifer King, Public Information Officer, at Jennifer.King@dph.ga.gov.


Our address is 1710 Whitehouse Court, Dalton, GA 30720 and our main phone number is (706) 529-5757.

One of 18 health districts in the state, the North Georgia Health District (District 1-2) is comprised of six counties: Cherokee, Fannin, Gilmer, Murray, Pickens and Whitfield

International Travel Clinic

Restaurant Scores

Career Center

Partner Websites

wiclogo   DPH Logo cdc logo